Paint fight!! – Jenna Martin Wedding Photographer

The idea of doing a paint fight photoshoot had been floating around in my head for a while, and I was getting tired of waiting on the weather. Even in late April, Montana weather can be bitter cold. So I contacted Karen Grosz of Canvas Creek Team Building here in Billings, MT. Canvas Creek works with groups of people to facilitate effective measures of teamwork through collaborative painting (they work with families, businesses, couples and even travel for their work; you guys should really check them out!). When I asked her about having a paint fight in her studio, she responded with a resounding, YES!! She told me I had to hurry though, as she would be closing her studio in a week and opening a new one in the fall. This was on Friday…I had to move quick!

Katrina and Justin weren’t scheduled for an engagement session until late May, but ever since I had been in contact with them I got the feeling they would be up for anything. Sure enough, they loved the idea! I was beyond thrilled; I didn’t sleep the entire night before! I met them at Karen’s downtown studio on Sunday night, and armed with a white background, various paint colors, a healthy supply of masking tape (and a necessary sense of adventure), I turned them loose. What followed was easily one of my favorite photoshoots yet. Hope you guys enjoy!

The red paint was a great addition, but early in the game it looked a little…well…”murdery”. So it was punished and put it in the corner. Poor, sad little bottle of red paint…

IMG_4050

And then we were back at it!!

IMG_4323

IMG_4765

IMG_4531I have to say, I may have had more fun than these two even did. I laughed the entire time and was even a bit sore the next day from crouching and bending into all those awkward positions we photographers find ourselves in. It was all worth it though, and I can’t wait to do something like this again (hopefully sooner than later)!

Fortunately, Karen loved the idea so much she’s even offered her temporary studio at In Good Glazes in case we feel like doing something like this again. Hear that people? You can do this too! I also have to thank Katrina and Justin for being such good sports; I’m so glad they agreed to get a little crazy for a night!

And like I said…Montana can be a bit chilly during late April :).

IMG_4596

One thought on “Paint fight!! – Jenna Martin Wedding Photographer

  1. Pingback: Love and Mountains – Jenna Martin Wedding Photographer | Jenna Martin Photography

Leave a Reply

